Department of Higher Education and Training Information

DHET (Department of higher education and training) is an official legal entity works under the ministry of education that focuses on or looks for higher education in India. It focuses on the education which the candidate has in their higher education. In India, higher education is defined by when a candidate or student starts his college life then comes under the department of Higher education and training.

This department not only focuses on the students it also gives attention to the training and education of the teachers. If the literacy rate of our country increases it will make the country strong in a possible way.

There are other departments that focus on the part of education like there is a department DSEL ( Department of School Education and literacy ) it is responsible for school development and improvement in the ratio of literacy in our country.

While the Department of higher education focuses on the higher education of the students in our country along with bringing the best quality of opportunities of higher education and along in the field of education and research.

If the students get a good quality of education they don’t get afraid or face any problems on an international platform. Along with that, the government has signed a lot of MoUs and ventures to help the students.

Department of Higher Education and Training Information

Name of organizationDepartment of Higher Education and Training
Works UnderMinistry of Education

The Objectives of the Department of  Higher education and training

  • It focuses on the implementation of the National policies on the field of education in a rightful way.
  • Also, focuses on the quality of education students get in the prestigious university. Along with the implementation of the colleges in those areas where education is not feasible.
  • Give support to those people who are left behind due to their illiteracy. Also, support tribal people and females by giving them opportunities to get an education.
  • Also, give scholarships, loans, subsidies to those students whose families are financially weak.
  • Work along with the foreign university or collaboration with the Indian universities through which they will enhance the educational opportunities for the students in India.

8 Major bureaus of Department of Higher Education and Training

1. University and Higher Education or Minorities Education

This is also sub-divided into other departments;

  • UGC (University Grant Commission): It is the department that was established in 1956 and focuses on the coordination and maintenance of standard of the education in the universities. It serves as a linkage between the central and state institutions. It also provides approval to open universities and colleges. Along with that, it also focuses on the improvement of education in the states and central universities. It also gives or sets criteria for the teacher and professors for teaching in the universities.
  • ICSSR (Indian Council of Social Science and Research): It is also one of the departments which was established by the government and focuses only on the research in the field of Social science. Along with that, sponsor and promote the programmes and projects in the field of social science. Also, give support in publishing journals to institutions who are weak financially.
  • ICHR (Indian Council of Historical Researcher): This department gives financial assistance to historians or people who are doing research in the field of history. Its main focus is to speed up and improve the quality of research.
  • ICPR (Indian Council of Philosophical Research): It is a lookup for progress that occurs in the field of philosophies and sponsor projects. Also support and do collaborate with the foreign institutes in the research of philosophies. Along with that, give financial assistance to the people who are giving everything in the research.
  • IIAS (Indian Institute of Advanced Studies): It was established in the year 1965, by the government of India in the capital of Himachal Pradesh which is Shimla. This department has a history of 1884-1888. It mainly focuses on the areas of humanities, social science, natural and life sciences. Students can do a fellowship programme for this institute which is up to for 2 years.
  • AISHE (All India Survey of Higher Education): It was started in the year 2010 – 2011, In this, a task force has formed which does an annual survey in the higher education institutes to look for the flaws in them and if they need improvement or not. In the survey, they found that in India there are 50000 institutes of higher education in India.

2. Department of Technical Education

  • AICTE (All India Council of Technical Education): This is the department focused on the maintenance, development and improvement in the higher education of the technical field. The department was established by the government in 1945. It also gives concerns on the coordination and planning of the rules and regulations in the technical institutes.
  • COA (Council of Architecture): It is the institute which was established by the government in 1972 under the act of Provisions of the Architects. Its role is to provide architecture education to the youth of India. There are under 445 institutes approved under the council of the architecture of India.
  • IIITs (Indian institutes of information technology): These are the institutes that focus on providing education in the field of information technology. In India, there are 15 IIITs institutes. These institutes come under the ministry of human resources.
  • IITs (Indian institutes of technology): These are the institutes that come under the ministry of education which are autonomous in nature and located across all over India. They come under the act of institutes of technology, 1961. These institutes provide higher education in the field of engineering along with research.
  • IIMs (Indian Institutes of management): These institutes provide education in the field of management. Established under the act of Indian Institutes of management, governed by the ministry of education. There are 20 IIMs institutes across India and in future, we can expect more.
  • IISERs (Indian Institute of science education and research)
  • NITs (National Institute of Technology)
  • SPAs (School of Planning and Architecture)
  • NITTTRs (National Institutes of Technical Teachers, Training and Research)

3. Department of Administration and languages

  • CSU (Central Sanskrit university)
  • SLDSNSU (Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri National Sanskrit University)
  • NSU (National Sanskrit University)
  • KHS (Kendriya Hindi Sansthan)
  • EFLU (English and Foreign Language University)
  • NCPUL (National Councils for Promotion of Urdu Languages)
  • NCPSL (National Council for Promotion of Sindhi Language)
  • CHD (Central Hindi Directorate)
  • CSTT (Commision for Scientific and Technological Terminology)

4. Department of education and Scholarships

  • IGNOU (Indira Gandhi National Open University)

5. UNESCO (International Cooperation, Book Promotion and Copyrights Education Policy, Planning and Monitoring.

6.IFD (Integrated Finance Division)

7. Statistics, Annual plan and CMIS

8. Administrative reform, the northeastern region

Official Website Link
DIETIDAR Home PageClick Here

Leave a Comment